16 States Volunteer Land For Establishment Of Cattle Colonies

16 northern states have so far, volunteered to provide land for the establishment of the cattle colonies in their respective

They are: Adamawa, Kano, Kaduna, Katsina, Zamfara, Kebbi, Nasarawa and Plateau, Bauchi, Gombe, Borno, Jigawa, Yobe, Niger, Kogi and Kwara states.

Each state is expected to provide 5,000 hectares of land for the proposed cattle colonies by the federal government according to Punch.

So far, no southern state has obliged the federal government’s request for land.

The establishment of the colonies is a major recommendation of the federal government aimed at finding a lasting solution to incessant clashes between herdsmen and local farmers.

The federal government has announced that the establishment of cattle colonies will begin next week in states that have agreed to the policy.


Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *