/Ondo Assembly sacks LG Caretaker Committees

Ondo Assembly sacks LG Caretaker Committees

The Ondo State House of Assembly has dissolved the caretaker committees across the 18 local government areas of the state.

The motion on the dissolution was moved at the plenary on Thursday in the hallowed chamber by Hon. Segun Ajimatokin (Irele Constituency) and was seconded by Hon. Jamiu Maito (Akoko North West Constituency 1).

During the plenary, Ajimotokin noted that the tenure of the caretaker committees had earlier been elongated for a six-month period, which lapsed on Wednesday, October 17 2018.

He further argued that since the issue had been extensively debated and resolved at the parliamentary meeting of the house, it was resolved that the eighteen local government Caretaker Committees be dissolved.

“Today, at the parliamentary meeting, members of this honourable house extensively debated the tenure of the local government caretaker committees and resolved that they be dissolved. I hereby move a motion for the dissolution of the Committees across the eighteen Local Government Areas of Ondo state with immediate effect.”

The motion was subsequently subjected to voice vote by the Speaker of the House, Bamidele Oleyelogun and it was unanimously agreed that the eighteen Caretaker Committees be dissolved.

Following the dissolution, the eighteen Local Government Caretaker Chairmen were directed to handover to the Directors of Local Government Administration, DLGAs, with immediate effect.

It would be recalled the in April this year, the caretaker committees were sacked by the state assembly, but were reinstated few hours later.


(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)

More from my site

READ  Why I joined the presidential race – Oby Ezekwesili
Share this Post[?]