Lagos Rally: 47 Yoruba Nation Agitators Regain Freedom

47 of the 48 Yoruba Nation agitators arrested by the Nigeria Police Force (NPF) in Lagos have now been released on bail.

According to Maxwell Adeleye, the Communications Manager of Ilana Omo Oodua, they have all met their bail conditions.

“This is to inform the general public that 47 out of the 48 protesters arrested by the Nigerian Police during the Yoruba Nation Rally held July 3rd, 2021 have been released from detention after meeting their bail conditions,” Adeleye said.

Recall that the protesters, including two women, were arraigned before a Yaba Chief Magistrate’s Court in Lagos for alleged unlawful protest.

The defendants, arrested on July 3 at Ojota, face a three-count charge of conspiracy, unlawful assembly and breach of peace.

One of the agitators, Tajudeen Bakare, is still being kept in detention after he was charged with two extra counts of murder and unlawful possession of arms.

Police Prosecutor, Adejoke Adebesin told the court that Bakare, during the protest shot a passerby, Jumoke Oyeleke.

The Police alleged that he used a Beretta pistol which was recovered from him.

Bakare was said to have driven a Jeep with Registration No. LSR 322 FK, and killed the deceased from the window of the car.

The names of the released agitators include Olasunkanmi Tanimola; Kabiru Lawanson; Chinemerem Emmanuel; Rasaki Musibau; Lukman Olalade; Olasanmi Oladipupo; Bashiru Shittu; Taofeek Abdusalam; Olamilekan Abata; Abdullahi Sikiru; Tosin Adeleye; Babatunde Lawal, Abiodun Taiwo, Adagunodo Babatunde, and Oluwafemi Adeleye.

Others include Oloye Taiwo, Saheed Kareem, Adebayo Waheed, Akinbode Sunday, Lawal Akeem, Samuel Ire, and Ogundile Dare.

Translate »