Breaking News

Osun election: PDP candidate Adeleke leads Oyetola as INEC announces 30 LG results

Senator Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has won 17 of the 30 Local Government Areas (LGAs) in the Osun State governorship election.

Incumbent Governor Adegboyega Oyetola of the All Progressives Congress (APC), however, won in the remaining 13 LGAs.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) announced the results of the governorship election conducted on Saturday by local governments.

In total Oyetola of the APC polled 375,027 votes while Adeleke of the PDP claimed 403,371 votes.

The collation exercise, which commenced in the early hours of Sunday, is ongoing at the INEC office in Osogbo, the state capital.

Meanwhile, the two leading candidates in the Osun State governorship election, Senator Ademola Adeleke and Governor Adegboyega Oyetola, won their respective polling units.

Adeleke of the PDP cast his vote at polling unit 9, Ward 2 in Ede North Local Government Area of the state.

He had arrived at his polling unit in Abogunde/Sagba at about 8:46am and was accredited shortly after before he proceeded to cast his ballot.

Elsewhere, incumbent Oyetola also swept to victory at his polling unit 2 Ward 1, Local Authority Primary School in Boripe Local Government Area of the state.

Shortly after arriving at the polling unit to a cheer from a crowd of supporters, the governor along with his wife joined the queue before casting their votes at some minutes past 11 am.

As usual, the electoral officials deployed to conduct the exercise at the polling unit sorted and counted the ballots cast at the end of voting.

A document uploaded on INEC’s result portal showed that the APC candidate polled 545 votes to beat his closest rival, Adeleke who scored 69 votes.

Translate »